First Memoir… The Taj!

It’s been a few years since I visited the Taj Mahal, yet I can’t seem to stop raving about it. I very well remember the not so pleasant journey I had taken with my family to reach the ethereal monument. A polluted & drab city with dirty roads welcomed us.  Just a kilometer ahead we got down from our taxi & took a ride on the so called ‘Rath’ which is a four wheeled cart being pulled by a horse. I gladly took my seat there as I had always wanted to ride one; inspired by our mythological soaps. It felt royal!!! On my way, I hung my head out to get a satisfactory view of the shops with very attractive, colorful items on them.

My thrill abruptly ended & I found myself standing at the entrance to one of the best known tombs around the world. I remember being ordered to stick to my mom while we wriggled through the long line of security check. I awed at the red sandstone of the vast gate. It was beautiful. I wondered how beautiful the TAJ is going to be!

Photo Credit: Flickr

I went down a wide flagstone path & a few seconds later I saw the breath taking monument from a distance. Many tourists books & postcards have let me on the inside scoop of the mausoleum but none had prepared me for such magnificence. As I walked ahead, I was greeted by a traditional Persian charbagh garden with streams of running water. A neat path with manicured lined trees took me to the foot of the white marble tomb & bliss engulfed me. I noticed the exteriors were as beautiful as the interiors with artistically curved decorations. People made their wishes on the tomb. I stood there savoring the marvelous building that testified undying love while every word of The English poet Sir Edwin Arnold “Not a piece of architecture, as other buildings are, but a proud passion of an emperor’s love wrought in living stone.”  & Rabindranath Tagore “A teardrop on the cheek of time”, made sense to me!

Photo Credit:Flickr

While we wanted to click a complete family photo, we could not approach anyone as all were busy clicking their own photos & shooting their own videos. However, a very sweet white couple both 50 plus offered to click one for us. Sometimes such kind acts from some stranger actually help you see the good in the world. That photo is still very dear & the humble beings still make a part of my memories from that trip.

Leave a Reply

