Remembering My Teachers

As I stand on my balcony, I hear my neighbor’s 10 year old daughter shout “Teachers’ day should be a holiday”. And it suddenly dawns on me that it’s 5th September…Teachers’ Day: A day which I had celebrated for more than 15 years of my life. I remember it to be always an eventful one. We used to make all sorts of arrangement for our teachers. When I was in junior school, I made cards & wished every teacher. As I grew up, handmade cards were replaced with the Archie’s cards. Every teacher in the school got one from me, whether he taught us or not. Our hot topic was “Who is your favorite teacher?” “Who is the teacher’s favorite student?” I did my best to be liked by my favorite ones. They formed a part of our lives just like our friends & parents. The connection was so strong that we missed them & school on Sundays & attempted to go for an extra class that day.

This a Teachers’ Day pic from my school:also featuring my close friends(Love you Jooli, Sampurna, Ruchika.)

Dear Teachers, excuse me for I am going to spill some beans.

Ritwik Sir, my English teacher from Assam

I remember your debut with a distinguishing thick voice (Pardon me) & French beard when I was in class VI.  You instantly struck us as a great English teacher & I waited for two years for you to take our class. If I know anything about English & Grammar, it’s because of you.  I truly truly admire you.

Devendra Sir, my Sanskrit teacher from Bihar

A very knowledgeable teacher, your ability to remember the slokas & Sanskrit tables always awed me.  You actually made this difficult subject likeable. I was amazed to know that you are a vegetarian (I never met one before. I didn’t even know such a thing existed.)

Kishor Sir, my class teacher from Orissa

You were nick named as “Booku Nothoka “(which I have already confessed to you) because of your leanness.  Your thrashings (for forgetting to write my daily diary, for not scoring to your expectations) make a part of my memories.  But in your own way you inspired me to improve & get better. Can’t forget how you taught us “Bol Ma”(the dance) .

Sashi Sir, my social science teacher from Kerala

I connected really well with you. Your melodious voice still strikes a chord. I was really fond of your stories from Kerala esp. the one about how you learned the 50 alphabets of Malyalam.

Naidu Sir, my mathematics teacher from Andhra Pradesh

You were so generous at giving marks that no one was ever scared of failing in your subject. I still haven’t forgotten the little Telgu you taught me “Me peri empty”(Am I right here Sir?)

Lamu Sir, my Hindi teacher from Madhya Pradesh

We called you “puali”(pardon) for your kid like looks. When MP was divided I repeatedly kept troubling you with the question “What if your house comes under Chhattisgarh now?”  I asked you the difference between Sagar & Samudra & was red with shame when you told me both mean the same. “Tum mujhe khun do mai tumhe Khun dunga” …that’s the stupidest thing I could have written on my paper. But you were kind enough not to punish me.

Shashank Sir (Physics) & Kalyan Sir(Biology), my Science teachers from Assam

I am really sorry but I never learnt to take your names separately. You both are really respectable & humble beings.

Govind Rajan, my Mathematics teacher from Tamil Nadu

I can never recall a non smiling face of yours. You always seemed happy to me. Passionate about Math’s & Pondicherry -that’s how I remember you.

Rupanjali di & Dipti di from Golaghat(Assam),

I always take pleasure in the fact that you both were so nice to me after I newly joined VKV Golaghat. Your warmth kept me going there.

Murthy Sir, my Mathematics teacher from Bangalore,

What can I say about you? An honorable person through & through.You are just perfect in everything you do.

This Teachers’ Day, I extend my thanks to all my teachers (some of whose name I might not have mentioned) who shaped & mould me. My glorious school days are something I always like to remember. Thanks for everything!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. akum says:

    Teachers, never been a big fan. Its not because i was not good in school but they were not good enough in teaching. LOL…

    1. Trishanka says:

      Do you mean every teacher you came across didn’t know how to teach? I don’t believe it.

      1. akum says:

        Maybe they knew how to teach but they were not good enough because i didn’t learn a shit from them. But i did taught all of them some life lesson like how to handle extra special kids like me…

  2. I don’t get it. You have studies all over india?? Amazing.
    Hope you check mine’s too.

    http://www.batdiary.wordpress.com

    1. Trishanka says:

      I have studied in four states. But I had teachers from all parts of the country at my school. Lucky me!
      Thanks for visiting.

  3. Wow, thanks for dropping by my blog.

    1. Trishanka says:

      You are welcome 🙂

  4. dilipnaidu says:

    Wow what a lovely post … reading your thoughts for your teachers makes me remember my teachers too .. .. most of us may forget our college teachers but never out school teachers 🙂

    Cheers and best regards.

    1. Trishanka says:

      I am glad you like it. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Manu Kurup says:

    This was a really nice post. Thanks for giving me a link to this. 🙂
    Happy Teachers Day 🙂

    1. Trishanka says:

      Thank you Manu Kurup.

  6. Jooli says:

    Simply lovd it…nd ys even i dn’t rmbr govind rajan sir’s gloomy face.:-) wl always cherish d memories of school lyf:-) it wl always b a special part of my lyf…

    1. Trishanka says:

      So true dear ju! keep visiting.

  7. surindernath says:

    Very well written. The teacher is as good as his / her students. As one teacher said :

    Shishyon ke ham guru hain ashishyon ke ham das !!

    For students I am a teacher, for others I am a servant !!

  8. I taught high school history for 34 years, Miami, Florida, USA. It is wonderful to see former students working in good jobs around the city. Thanks visit my blog.

    1. Trishanka says:

      Wow! 34 years is quite a time. Thank you for stopping by.

  9. good use of the time… good use of the memories… You refreshed my school days. nice! Who wrote that ” Happy Teacher’s Day ” note on the black board? hehe.. Good Old Days!! Good JOB Isabella.

    1. Trishanka says:

      You wrote that, I remember. You got that nice creativity in you.

Leave a Reply

