Unveiling Assam

With this post, I begin a worthy purpose of introducing an ethereal place which I believe, is not much familiar to the rest of the country. The true identity of the place & its people are suppressed underneath the cloud of political clashes. It has its share of pain but it’s high time to acknowledge its mesmerizing beauty. Unfortunately, the turbulence acquires resonance & its essence is ignored often. I am talking about the place I hail from – Assam. It breaks my heart to see how this serene land is getting depleted & defamed. It might have been in news for the wrong reasons but I envision presenting before you an Assam that is so blessed that everyone deserves to bath in its glory.

                               Blooming Paddy Fields on Backdrop of  Mountainous Horizon

While studying in Punjab, I was surprised to learn that there are people in this nation who do not even know where Assam is. Some managed to recall “wahan jahan chai banti he?” Result of their poor schooling, weak geographical traits or conservative nature? I can’t say. It always disappoints me to find Indians who do not even know the most basic things about their own country. I vividly remember my father keeping me up to date with all the states, their chief ministers, capitals (precisely current affairs) since I joined school. I bagged prizes in Quiz only because of him. That was when, I learned to think of India as one.

                                Tea Estates

When I think of my life in Assam, I remember being happy always. I liked going to the Namghar(Assamese worshiping place), devouring on the Prasad, celebrating & dancing Bihu, relishing the greenery & adoring the scenic vistas in monsoon. The simplicity of that society & the warmth of it make me wonder if such a relaxed & laid back lifestyle is possible in today’s daily grind.

                                                                   A still from the Bihu dance

Once, my mom was seriously ill & my father had to take her to another town for treatment. That was the first ever time in my life I stayed alone. I was just 11 years old. Cooking was a stranger to me. But the aunt in my neighborhood called me up, prepared meals for me, made me snacks & sent me to school. When my parents were back, many families offered to serve them dinner.

If you have a reason to celebrate, the entire community would be at your place to participate & arrange for the occasion. If you are in a sticky situation, everyone would give a hand to pull you out of it.

                               The mighty Brahmaputra

Assam is the land of lofty blue hills, green-golden paddy fields, evergreen forest with palm and bamboo groves & the torrential Brahmaputra: the only male river in the entire nation. Famous for its one-horn Rhino, Assam is a natural habitat of numerous flora & fauna.The tribes account for its diversity & various dialects. Majuli (886 sq km), on the Brahmaputra is the largest river island in the world. The gorgeous manicured tea estates interplanted with acacia trees adds to the charm.  Dibrugarh is called as the tea city of the world and produces the finest of tea.  However, traditionally Assam is the assembler of high quality silk, called pat and Muga, and a major reservoir of oil and natural gas.  Assam accommodates nearly 800 species of Orchids in their natural state. The  ‘Kapowphool’ (Rhyncostylis Retusa) is widely popular orchid. The gamosa (a white embroidered scarf bordered with red) is a special part of the traditional costume. And the pH-balanced unique banana-alkaline extract dish called khar is another specialty.

One requires to discover this unexplored treasure adorned with equally pleasant climate & affectionate people, to have some serendipitous moments in life!

26 Comments Add yours

  1. vivek says:

    This is a very wonderful post. I would surely like to know much more about this amazing place through you.

  2. soumyav says:

    tht was such a great deal of info and was good to explore the place thru your eyes.. love the place. my husband has been there to guwahati many times,even to kamakshi temple.. and I had the opportunity of seeing those places thru his photos. .these states are heaven on earth

    1. Trishanka says:

      Thank you. Am happy to know that you like the place.
      PS: It is Kamakhya temple.

      1. soumyav says:

        oH ya! its pronounced the other way in other parts of India..specially western

      2. Trishanka says:

        You are right there soumyav!

  3. Manu Kurup says:

    That was a great piece about Assam. I’m slowly collecting information and maps of the North-Eastern states of India for a journey which might be possible in two years. You are quite true about the people who knows jack about their own country. Most people I have met and talked have impaired ideas about anything other than their own home state. Some don’t even that! 🙂

    1. Trishanka says:

      I so agree with you Manu Kurup.I would be writing some more on North-East.

  4. dilipnaidu says:

    Your beautiful post on Assam brings back many fond memories.The people are so funloving and kind. And the lovely photos truly represent the multicolored ethos of Assam.
    Mant thanks for sharing.

    1. Trishanka says:

      i am delighted to hear your thoughts. You are most welcome!

  5. surindernath says:

    Very informative, Fascinanting and picturesque as always ! 😀

  6. Loving your post – your photos are amazing:) Thanks for sharing – happy friday!

    1. Trishanka says:

      Thanks. Same to you!

  7. Prathap says:

    Great piece of information.. Thank you.

  8. Angelia Sims says:

    This is such a beautiful land. Thank-you for sharing your heart for it. Beautiful inside and out.

  9. India…is my dream land since I know the story of Mahabharata, when I was little child. I really wish to come to this beautiful country…n hope google will give me money to make my dream come true…he…he..he.. It’s nice to know you Tris…

    1. Trishanka says:

      You are very welcome to this country. Hope you make google pay enough:)

  10. Your description is so loving and beautiful that it is addictive. My only knowledge of Assam is of Assam Tea, my favorite. I am happy to learn more about this wonderful place.

  11. Very thoughtful post.Wishing you success.Jalal

  12. So far my image of Assam was of thick forest and not developed,a hard terrain. But you article had given me a different outlook altogether. It is really a beautiful place.

  13. sakthi5028 says:

    God gifted place because of its green and Beautiful !!!

  14. RAMU DAS says:

    Trishanka, you have painted the state (and parts of the state) very beautifully. 🙂

  15. I was searching for the like button to like this post. Hence I had no option left but to comment. Simply awesome. I am from Assam, and I can understand how you feel. Glad that i stumbled upon this blog. 🙂

  16. Looks like a lovely place!
    Man, I’m gonna visit Assam one day. One day. 🙂
    Keep up the good work!

    Godbless. 🙂

Leave a Reply

